My Itinerary Trip to India – #1 Kolkata

Posted on Updated on

KOLKATA – my entry point city

Day 1 – I arrived in Kolkata in the evening, VOA paid in the airport, checked into Hotel Esplanade Chambers at Dalhousie area. Actually it was a budget hotel, but clean enough, with ensuite bathroom and pretty good wi-fi connection. To stay in this hotel for 2-3 nights it felt pretty.

Day 1 – Tiba di Kolkata malam hari, membayar Visa On Arrival di bandara, kemudian naik taksi menuju hotel yang sudah saya pesan jauh-jauh hari melalui website. Saya menginap di Hotel Esplanade Chambers di daerah Dalhousie. Sebenarnya ini hotel murah, cocok untuk yang suka backpacking. Kamarnya cukup bersih, bisa untuk berdua dan ada kamar mandi dalam. Koneksi Wi-Fi juga bagus. Untuk tinggal di hotel ini selama 2-3 malam rasanya cukup.

In front of hotel
In front of hotel
Gate to Chadni Chawk MRT
Gate to Chadni Chawk MRT
Surrounding the hotel
Surrounding the hotel

Day 2 – Since my trip in India for a long time and I will using train as main transportation intercity, then I have to find a ticket for my trip next, to Varanasi and Agra. After breakfast at the hotel, I walked to the Fairlie Place, a place where foreign tourists can buy a train ticket. While I am walking down the street, I took some pictures of Kolkata’s city life. I saw a group of men were bathing in the street, sellers get busy cooking food and selling on the pavement. I passed the church of St. Andrew, Red Writer’s Building. There are many buildings of the British colonial heritage. Not too difficult to find a train ticket offices. Office was not yet open when I came and I bought 2 pieces of cake alongside a road and a glass of sugarcane juice. Done care purchasing train tickets, I returned to the hotel and during the day it rained hard enough so that I could rest for a while. The air is hot enough that afternoon, but after flushing the rain makes the air quite cool. In the afternoon I was down the main road to Jawaharlal Road, then go to Park Street is a little different atmosphere. Feels more modern and stylish “western style”, because along the way there are many shops, boutiques and expensive restaurant menus western (Europe, America, Italy, etc.). I also had to buy some clothes and trousers in a typical Indian street, near expensive hotels Oberoi Hotel .

Day 2 – Karena perjalanan saya di India cukup lama dan menggunakan sarana Kereta Api sebagai alat transportasi maka saya harus mencari tiket untuk 2 trip saya berikutnya, yaitu Varanasi dan Agra. Setelah sarapan di hotel, saya berjalan kaki ke daerah Fairlie Place, tempat dimana para turis asing dapat membeli tiket KA. Saya berjalan kaki sambil mengambil beberapa gambar kehidupan kota Kolkata. Ada sekelompok lelaki sedang mandi di pinggir jalan, penjual-penjual makanan mulai sibuk memasak dan berjualan di atas trotoar. Saya melewati gereja St. Andrew, Red Building. Banyak terdapat bangunan-bangunan peninggalan colonial Inggris. Tidak terlalu sulit mencari kantor penjualan tiket KA. Kantor masih belum buka ketika saya datang dan saya membeli kue dipinggir jalan 2 buah dan segelas air tebu. Selesai mengurus pembelian tiket KA, saya kembali ke hotel dan siang hari itu hujan turun cukup deras. Udara  cukup panas siang hari itu, tetapi setelah disirami oleh hujan membuat udara menjadi sejuk. Sore hari saya menyusuri jalan utama yaitu Jawaharlal Road, kemudian masuk ke Park Street yang suasananya sedikit berbeda. Lebih modern dan terasa gaya “western”, karena di sepanjang jalan tersebut banyak toko-toko, butik-butik mahal dan restaurant menu barat (Europe, America, Itali, dll). Saya juga sempat membeli beberapa baju dan celana khas India di kaki lima, dekat hotel mahal Oberoi Hotel J 🙂 

 

Red Writer's Building
Red Writer’s Building
Kolkata city
Kolkata city
At Fairlie Place
At Fairlie Place
Park Street
Park Street

Day 3 – Visit the Victoria Memorial Hall. This place you must visit if you are in Kolkata. To get to this place I rode the metro train from Chadni Chowk a distance of 50m from the hotel. Of Victoria Memorial Hall, I visited the church of St. Paul and next to the Birla Planetarium there. In the afternoon I took a ferry down the river Howrah. I rode the metro train towards Sovabazar Sutanuti, then continued up until at Arihitola Ghat by autorickshaw and went aboard the ferry and get off at Howrah station. From Howrah station I walked through Howrah bridge is super busy and bustling pedestrians and passing vehicles. And I walked to the hotel for dinner and rest.

Hari 3 – Mengunjungi Victoria Memorial Hall. Tempat ini wajib anda kunjungi bila anda berada di Kolkata.  Untuk menuju tempat ini saya naik metro train dari  Chadni Chowk yang jaraknya 50m dari hotel. Dari Victoria Memorial Hall, saya mengunjungi gereja St. Paul dan disebelahkanya terdapat Birla Planetarium. Sore hari saya naik kapal ferry menyusuri sungai Howrah. Saya naik metro train menuju Sovabazar Sutanuti, kemudian lanjut naik bajaj sampai di Arihitola Ghat, lalu naik kapal ferry dan turun di Howrah stasiun. Dari stasiun Howrah saya berjalan kaki melalui jembatan Howrah yang super sibuk dan ramai pejalan kaki dan kendaraan yang lalu lalang. Dan saya berjalan kaki menuju hotel untuk makan malam dan istirahat.

Victoria Memorial Hall
Victoria Memorial Hall
Back yard of Memorial Victoria Hall
Back yard of Memorial Victoria Hall
Bustling Howrah Bridge
Bustling Howrah Bridge

Day 4 – Today is the last day to be in Kolkata. Before heading to Varanasi, I visited the Belur Math. Its location is a bit on the edge of town and I take a taxi to reach the location. Unfortunately, at Belur Math should not be taking photos so I did not linger there. Belur Math is a place of worship and open to anyone. From Belur Math I ride the city bus and get off at the Esplanade bus terminal. I walk back to the hotel for a short rest, shower and pack up to go to Howrah station by taxi.
Overnight train to Varanasi: The train left at 20.00 and arrived at Varanasi at 9.30am

 

Day 4 – Hari ini adalah hari terakhir berada di Kolkata. Sebelum menuju Varanasi, saya mengunjungi Belur Math. Lokasinya agak sedikit di pinggir kota dan saya naik taksi untuk sampai di lokasi. Sayangnya, di Belur Math tidak boleh mengambil foto sehingga saya tidak berlama-lama berada disana. Belur Math merupakan tempat ibadah dan terbuka untuk siapa saja. Dari Belur Math saya naik bis kota dan turun di Esplanade Bus terminal. Saya berjalan kaki kembali ke hotel untuk beristirahat sebentar, mandi dan berkemas untuk menuju ke stasiun Howrah dengan menggunakan taksi.
Bermalam di kereta api menuju Varanasi: KA berangkat jam  20.00 dan tiba di Varanasi jam 9.30 pagi.

Cost/biaya:
– VOA (for Indonesian): Rs3600
– Victoria Memorial Hall: Rs150
– Metro train: Rs4 / trip (depends on the distance)
– Autorickshaw to Arihitola Ghat: Rs5 / person
– Ferry ticket to Howrah: Rs5
–  Train ticket to Varanasi: Rs950 – Class 3A

 

Howrah Bridge
Howrah Bridge
2 thoughts on “My Itinerary Trip to India – #1 Kolkata

    willy said:
    January 2, 2016 at 7:12 pm

    Hebat mba. Sy juga suka sekali. Travel model backpacking. Sy dalam waktu dekat ini ada rencana ke raja ampat, atau ke flores, masih bingung.. hehe… mbak ada grup nga ? Sekalian jalan bareng. Tx. Willy. Pin bb ku 751dc898

      Tania Langitan responded:
      January 4, 2016 at 7:30 pm

      halo Willy, thanks sebelumnya sudah mampir di blog saya
      saya sudah add pin bb kamu, tinggal di accept saja
      untuk trip ke Raja Ampat rencana sih tgl. 1-6 April
      dan untuk trip Flores & Komodo tgl. 4-8 Mei

Leave a Reply

