Walking Tour in Georgetown Penang

Posted on Updated on

Visiting Penang, Malaysia is a part of my road trip from Thailand to Singapore. I came from Hatyai by minivan which taken around 4 hours. The minivan dropped me at Butterworth. Actually they could drop me in Georgetown city, but I would like to cross the river by ferry. Just pay only RM1.20 then the ferry will take me 20 minutes to Ferry Terminal or Weld Quay. I arrived at 9.30pm local time. There are many taxis and buses, and i decided took a taxi. Well, I had to bargain the cost which I didn’t know how much the cost properly to my hotel. Finally, we dealt with RM18 (eventually I knew the cost should be around RM12 🙂 ). I feel that everything worked out incredibly simple and secure.

Spending times 2 days in Georgetown was quiet enough. It is a small town. I stay at Red Inn Court, located in Jalan Masjid Kapitan Keling. It was easy to reach everywhere from this hotel and close to historical sites. Many restaurants around here and they open up until midnight.

So, my first morning in Georgetown my walking tour started to pass St. George’s Church, Penang Museum and Church of Assumption. Explanation is provided of Museum from the outside. From there I passed into Love Lane.

Redd   Penang all6

Along the way of Love Lane, Muntri Street there are many buildings with historical story. Until i found the Cheong Fatt Tze Mansion, but unfortunately I couldn’t entry to the Mansion. It will be open at 2pm, informed by the security. 😦

Penang3 Penang5

The photos below are the interesting places that I frequent for 2 days in Georgetown Penang, such as Little India, Queen Street, King Street, Armenian Street, Islamic Museum, Dr. Sun Yat Sen Penang base, Chew Jetty, Botanical Garden, etc.

Penang all1   Penang all2 Penang all3   Penang all4 Penang all5   Sunset Penang1 Sunset Penang2

Happy Traveling!

 

Leave a Reply

